References and links

The competence based curriculum


Opening Minds

Developed by the RSA http://www.rsaopeningminds.org.uk/about-rsa-openingminds/


Disposition

Habits of Mind Art Costa and Bena Kallick  http://www.habitsofmind.co.uk

Learning Power

Gornall, S., Chambers, M and Claxton, G. 2005, Building Learning Power in Action, TLO, Bristol,

Claxton, G., Chambers, M., Powell, G., Lucas, B. 2011, The Learning Powered School, TLO, Bristol

Learning Power in Practice - The ELLI Project. Deakin Crick, R., Learning Power in Practice Paul Chapman, London, 2006


Community of Enquiry

Philosophy for Children (P4wC) http://sapere.org.uk/

Philosophy Foundation Peter Worley http://philosophy-foundation.org/

The Philosophy Man Jason Buckley http://www.thephilosophyman.com/

Thinking Spaces http://www.thinkingspaces.org.uk/

Open Space for Dialogue and Enquiry  (OSDE)

http://www.osdemethodology.org.uk/secondaryschools.html

Mantle of the Expert Dorothy Heathcote, Brian Edmison and others http://www.mantleoftheexpert.com

Thinking Through Schools De A'Echevarria, A. and Leat, D. Thinking Through Schools suite of books (2006)http://www.teachingexpertise.com/publications/thinking-through-school-1220


Books on philosophical approaches

Matthew Lipman, Thinking in Education, Cambridge University Press, 2003 (2nd Ed 2007)

Robert Fisher (2008) Teaching Thinking, Philosophical Enquiry In The Classroom (3rd Ed), Continuum, London.


Thinking Tools

Logo Visual Thinking (LVT) Anthony Blake and John Varney  http://www.logovisual.com 

Best, B.,  Blake, A., and Varney, J. Making Meaning through LogoVisual Thinking , Chris Kington, Cambridge, 2005

The TASC wheel (Thinking Actively in Social Contexts) Devised by Belle Wallace. There is a TASC Wheel presentation by Claire Seeley, it is a downloadable ppt - PowerPoint

Thinking Hats The Edward de Bono Foundation  http://debonoforschools.com/asp/six_hats.asp

Cognitive Research Trust (CoRT 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6) The Edward de Bono Foundation  http://www.debonofoundation.co.uk/whycort.html

Thinking Maps David Hyerle and Chris Yeager http://www.thinkingmaps.com/

Mind Maps Tony Buzan http://www.thinkbuzan.com and there are many accessible books on the methodology.


Accelerated Learning

Accelerated Learning and ALPS Alistair Smith http://www.acceleratedlearning.com/method/what_is.html

Cognitive Acceleration in Science Education (CASE) Philip Adey and Michael Shayer.  Really Raising Standards: Cognitive Intervention and Academic Achievement, Psychology Press, 1994.

Mapwise Oliver Caviglioli and Ian Harris  Accelerated Learning Through Visible Thinking, Continuum, 2000


Other Sources

Jigsaw Cooperative Classroom Elliot Aaronson, http://www.jigsaw.org/ 

The Thinking Classroom Mike Fleetham http://www.thinkingclassroom.co.uk/

Socratic Dialogue Various sources http://www.criticalthinking.org/

Members Area

Spread the word

QTS Lit Test Support

Creative Learning

Teacher Training

Recent Forum Posts

You are visitor number